CPHA Canvax

COVID-19 Resources

 

Immunization services are essential health services that should be maintained during the COVID-19 pandemic. However, service deliveries may vary depending on the province or territory.

Listed below are some resources from Canadian and international organizations to inform you and your practice. The tables can be sorted by date, source, title, or link. Click the respective column heading to sort.

If you have a guidance document or resources that should be added to this page, please contact us.

Resources on Immunization During COVID-19

For general resource on COVID-19, click here


 

Provincial / Territorial (Click any column heading to sort the table)

Date (Month/Date/Year) Source Title Link
05/05/2020 Quebec National Institute of Public Health Vaccination Activities during the COVID-19 Coronavirus Pandemic: Revised on May 6, 2020 (V2.0) https://canvax.ca/vaccination-activities-during-covid-19-coronavirus-pandemic-revised-may-6-2020-v20
04/16/2020 ImmunizeBC Immunization during COVID-19 https://canvax.ca/immunization-during-covid-19
04/09/2020 BC Centre for Disease Control (BCCDC) Continuity, Prioritization and Safe Delivery of Immunization Services during COVID-19 Response https://canvax.ca/continuity-prioritization-and-safe-delivery-immunization-services-during-covid-19-response
No date Alberta Health Services Immunizations During the COVID-19 Pandemic https://canvax.ca/immunizations-during-covid-19-pandemic
03/25/2020 Ontario Family Physicians Interim Schedule for Children and Pregnant Women During the COVID-19 Pandemic https://canvax.ca/interim-schedule-children-and-pregnant-women-during-covid-19-pandemic
04/22/2020 Quebec National Institute of Public Health COVID-19 : Immunité de groupe et retour des enfants à l’école et à la garderie (in French only) https://canvax.ca/fr/covid-19-immunite-de-groupe-et-retour-des-enfants-lecole-et-la-garderie
Back To Top

National (Click any column heading to sort the table)

Date (Month/Date/Year) Source Title Link
05/13/2020 Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) Interim guidance on continuity of immunization programs during the COVID-19 pandemic https://canvax.ca/interim-guidance-continuity-immunization-programs-during-covid-19-pandemic
05/05/2020 Toronto Star Anti-vaxxers and the question of mandatory COVID-19 vaccinations (podcast) https://canvax.ca/anti-vaxxers-and-question-mandatory-covid-19-vaccinations
04/29/2020 CANVax in Brief COVID-19: Potential Impact on Vaccine-Preventable Diseases in Canada https://canvax.ca/brief/covid-19-potential-impact-vaccine-preventable-diseases-canada
04/29/2020 Canadian Paediatric Society (CPS) Update on COVID-19 epidemiology and impact on medical care in children: April 2020 https://canvax.ca/update-covid-19-epidemiology-and-impact-medical-care-children-april-2020
04/28/2020 Dalla Lana School of Public Health Maintaining Immunization Programs During an Emergency (webinar) https://canvax.ca/maintaining-immunization-programs-during-emergency-webinar
04/22/2020 Unicef Canada A UNICEF Canada Podcast: The COVID-19 impact: What happens when immunization services halt? https://canvax.ca/unicef-canada-podcast-covid-19-impact-what-happens-when-immunization-services-halt
03/26/2020 Canadian Paediatric Society (CPS) Providing virtual care during a pandemic: A guide to telemedicine in the paediatric office https://canvax.ca/providing-virtual-care-during-pandemic-guide-telemedicine-paediatric-office
03/25/2020 Canadian Paediatric Society (CPS) Current epidemiology and guidance for COVID-19 caused by SARS-CoV-2 virus, in children: March 2020 https://canvax.ca/current-epidemiology-and-guidance-covid-19-caused-sars-cov-2-virus-children-march-2020
No date MD Brief Case A Canadian Healthcare Provider's Guide to the Novel Coronavirus (2019-nCov) https://canvax.ca/canadian-healthcare-providers-guide-novel-coronavirus-2019-ncov
No date MD Brief Case Managing Patients During a Pandemic Needs Assessment https://canvax.ca/managing-patients-during-pandemic-needs-assessment
04/29/2020 I Boost Immunity  The COVID-19 Misinformation Toolkit for Kids (and Parents!) at Home https://canvax.ca/covid-19-misinformation-toolkit-kids-and-parents-home 
06/09/2020 Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) The New Yorker’s Jill Lepore on her new podcast https://canvax.ca/new-yorkers-jill-lepore-her-new-podcast
06/12/2020 CANVax in Brief  Beware the public opinion survey’s contribution to misinformation and disinformation in the COVID-19 Pandemic https://canvax.ca/brief/beware-public-opinion-surveys-contribution-misinformation-and-disinformation-covid-19
Back To Top

United States (Click any column heading to sort the table)

Date (Month/Date/Year) Source Title Link
05/15/2020 United States Centers for Disease Control (CDC) Effects of the COVID-19 Pandemic on Routine Pediatric Vaccine Ordering and Administration — United States, 2020 https://canvax.ca/effects-covid-19-pandemic-routine-pediatric-vaccine-ordering-and-administration-united-states-2020
04/29/2020 Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) Health care workers must be protected while vaccinating during the COVID-19 pandemic https://canvax.ca/health-care-workers-must-be-protected-while-vaccinating-during-covid-19-pandemic
04/20/2020 Tennessee Department of Health COVID-19: Guidance for Health Department of Curbside Immunization Services https://canvax.ca/covid-19-guidance-health-department-curbside-immunization-services
04/14/2020 United States Centers for Disease Control (CDC) Schedule Changes & Guidance: Vaccination Recommendations during the COVID-19 Pandemic https://canvax.ca/schedule-changes-guidance-vaccination-recommendations-during-covid-19-pandemic
No date Vaccinate Your Family Call, Don’t Cancel: Talking to People about Vaccinations during the COVID-19 Pandemic https://canvax.ca/call-dont-cancel-talking-people-about-vaccinations-during-covid-19-pandemic
No date Vaccinate Your Family Raising Vaccination Rates During a Pandemic https://canvax.ca/raising-vaccination-rates-during-pandemic
06/03/2020 California Pharmacists Association Recommendations for Pharmacy-Based Immunization Services During COVID-19 https://canvax.ca/recommendations-pharmacy-based-immunization-services-during-covid-19
05/19/2020 Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) Vaccination of Newborns in the Context of the COVID-19 Pandemic https://canvax.ca/vaccination-newborns-context-covid-19-pandemic
No date Vaccinate Your Family  Vaccine Policy during the COVID-19 Pandemic: What State Legislators Can Do Now to Prepare for Tomorrow  https://canvax.ca/vaccine-policy-during-covid-19-pandemic-what-state-legislators-can-do-now-prepare-tomorrow
05/28/2020 The National Academies of Science Engineering Medicine Virtual Meeting on Improving Vaccine Uptake - Issues of Access and Hesitancy https://canvax.ca/virtual-meeting-improving-vaccine-uptake-issues-access-and-hesitancy
06/02/2020 American Medical Association AMA COVID-19 daily video update: Experts discuss the pandemic’s impact on routine immunizations https://canvax.ca/ama-covid-19-daily-video-update-experts-discuss-pandemics-impact-routine-immunizations
06/12/2020 Washington State Department of Health Vaccination Guidance for Providers during the COVID-19 Pandemic https://canvax.ca/vaccination-guidance-providers-during-covid-19-pandemic
06/22/2020 Michigan Department of Health & Human Services (MDHHS) – Division of Immunization Guidance for Providers Returning to Practice https://canvax.ca/guidance-providers-returning-practice
03/26/2020 Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) The Immunization Program in the Context of the COVID-19 Pandemic https://canvax.ca/immunization-program-context-covid-19-pandemic
05/01/2020 Mayo Clinic Mayo Clinic Q&A podcast: Maintaining routine vaccine schedules during COVID-19 https://canvax.ca/mayo-clinic-qa-podcast-maintaining-routine-vaccine-schedules-during-covid-19
Back To Top

International (Click any column heading to sort the table)

Date (Month/Date/Year) Source Title Link
05/16/2020 International Pediatric Association Immunization during COVID-19 Pandemic (webinar) https://canvax.ca/immunization-during-covid-19-pandemic
05/14/2020 Eurosurveillance Early impact of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic and physical distancing measures on routine childhood vaccinations in England, January to April 2020 https://canvax.ca/early-impact-coronavirus-disease-covid-19-pandemic-and-physical-distancing-measures-routine
05/12/2020 The University of Sydney The vaccination gap: increasing uptake and acceptance (podcast) https://canvax.ca/vaccination-gap-increasing-uptake-and-acceptance
04/16/2020 World Health Organization & Unicef Immunization in the context of COVID-19 pandemic (Frequently Asked Questions) https://canvax.ca/immunization-context-covid-19-pandemic-frequently-asked-questions
04/01/2020 Australian Government, Department of Health Guiding Principle For Maintaining Immunisation Services During the COVID-19 Pandemic https://canvax.ca/guiding-principle-maintaining-immunisation-services-during-covid-19-pandemic
03/26/2020 World Health Organization (WHO) Guiding principles for immunization activities during the COVID-19 pandemic (Interim Guidance) https://canvax.ca/guiding-principles-immunization-activities-during-covid-19-pandemic-interim-guidance
03/25/2020 World Health Organization (WHO) COVID-19: Operational guidance for maintaining essential health services during an outbreak https://canvax.ca/covid-19-operational-guidance-maintaining-essential-health-services-during-outbreak
03/20/2020 World Health Organization Europe (WHOE) Guidance on routine immunization services during COVID-19 pandemic in the WHO European Region (2020) https://canvax.ca/guidance-routine-immunization-services-during-covid-19-pandemic-who-european-region-2020
05/22/2020 World Health Organization (WHO) Framework for decision-making: implementation of mass vaccination campaigns in the context of COVID-19 (Interim Guidance) https://canvax.ca/framework-decision-making-implementation-mass-vaccination-campaigns-context-covid-19-interim
No date International Federation on Ageing Mobilizing Patient Groups to Change Vaccine Policy https://canvax.ca/mobilizing-patient-groups-change-vaccine-policy
No date Melbourne Vaccine Education Centre Podcast Series: COVID19 Road to a vaccine https://canvax.ca/podcast-series-covid19-road-vaccine
No date Milken Institute, Faster Cures COVID-19 Treatment and Vaccine Tracker https://canvax.ca/covid-19-treatment-and-vaccine-tracker
No date Australian Government, Department of Health Statement on the Duration of Observation After Vaccination in the Context of Minimizing Risk of Exposure to COVID-19 at Health Care Facilities https://canvax.ca/statement-duration-observation-after-vaccination-context-minimizing-risk-exposure-covid-19-health
Back To Top

 

General Resources on COVID-19

Back To Top

Last Reviewed: June 30, 2020

Main navigation